Monday 28th May, 2012 – reaching 100km on Bob

A very short ride this evening – a mile each way to and from the shops.  Given that I don’t have a luggage rack fitted on him (yet), I was delighted to find out just how big the bag on the back is. Also, this was up and down the High Road at a pretty busy time.  I’d be lying if I said there wasn’t a little trepidation, especially when I started back from outside Waitrose – and there were times I was a little tense with a long queue of cars coming up from behind, even more so when I had to manoeuvre around cars parked stupidly close to traffic islands!  Noticing tension is easy, I start gripping the handlebars and my steering becomes a bit more iffy – not something to be encouraged. 

Yet again I ended up talking to somebody – an older gentleman outside Waitrose who was taking a conspicuous interest in Bob and clearly wanted to know more.  Don’t buy one of these bikes if you don’t like talking to people.  Luckily I do.

The one surprise was how tired I felt when I got home.  However it has been incredibly hot today and lethargy seems to be the order of the day for most people tonight.

This evening’s ride was also significant in two ways:

  • First, it was Bob’s first ride as a working bike doing something other than just for pleasure
  • Secondly, with this ride I notched up my first 100km on Bob.  Not so far as 100 miles, but it’s nice to see the 3 figures there together.
This entry was posted in Learning to ride Bob. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

