Wednesday 23rd May, 2012

The weather suddenly turned hot today.  From a grey cool morning, by lunchtime the sun was out and the temperature rocketing.  Felt really drained by the time I got home, but as the evening cooled down a bit I went out for just a few minutes on Bob.  Today I managed to cycle up the incline to the High Road relatively easily – in fact a more easily than I often manage on my upright, although it has to be said that it’s usually first thing in the morning on that. After my epic failure at stopping and starting at this point on Saturday I managed a couple of epic stops and successful starts on the way up.  Technique and practice as much as muscle there I think, so even though I was out for all of 15 minutes it was certainly worthwhile.

Another aspect of how worthwhile is that I got to meet somebody else on my street who I’d not spoken to before.  She saw me cycling up the road on Bob, smiled and said hello – cue to stop and introduce ourselves.  So, recumbents aren’t just good for comfortable riding but also community building J.

Distance – all of 1.5 miles, but it was more about getting in a bit of practice on turning and stopping and starting on an upward incline.

This entry was posted in Learning to ride Bob. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

